Song Of The Day: Paolo Nutini – Candy

May 29, 2009 at 3:56 PM (Song Of The Day) (, , )

So, I don’t know about you guys but Paolo Nutini’s song ‘Candy’ has been on repeat on my iTunes player for a while now. It’s an amazing song, so I thought I’d share it with those of you that may have not heard it yet…. Yes, I’m a giver =]

Paolo Nutini is a Scottish singer and songwriter hailing from Paisley.

His debut album ‘These Streets’ released in 2006 has sold millions of copies and his songs have featured in episodes of CLASS shows such as Scrubs, CSI and Grey’s Anatomy. Paolo has also supported some of the industry’s most talented artists such as Amy Winehouse and even The Rolling Stones and these types of achievements have led him to be recognised as an artist definitely to watch out for, all over the globe.

His musical sound is quite earthy, natural and one that is incredibly difficult to pinpoint, there’s extreme variety ranging from soul, jazz, blues, and even folk ambiences.
As he explains, ”Musically where I’m at, I don’t really have a genre or style that I feel a part of.” ”It’s a bit of random mish mash.”

The concept for his song ‘Candy’ was developed after an argument that occurred with his girlfriend, later he realised that he was the one who was at fault. (If only he had asked me, I could’ve told him, women are ALWAYS right, even when we’re wrong, we’re right! It’s been scientifically proven.)

The song ‘Candy’ was co-written by Ethan Johns who has worked with the likes of Ryan Adams and The Kings of Leon. It is also the first release from his highly awaited NEW album entitled ‘Sunny Side Up’ which is out JUNE 1st!

Born on the 9th of January 1987 and therefore still young… Paolo’s new album promises growth and a more developed sound, so make sure you go out and support our home grown talent by purchasing it!

Here’s the song ‘Candy.’ Hope you all LOVE it as much as I do =]

Neelam Atique – May ’09

2 Comments

  1. Neelam Atique said,

    He is greatttt =) Very unique voice and sound compared to a lot of singers right now, his songs are pretty much timeless and it’s nice to see someone singing and making popular the blue-sy / folk kind of music genre.

    As for the girl in the red dress… I dont really have a clue =( She might just be doing the backing voice on the track… I will try find out and let you know ;]

    Thanks again for reading and the comment Harp, its much appreciated xx

  2. HarpGuy said,

    I, too, love the song (Candy). It is, in fact, what got me to take Nutini a little more seriously than I had been up to that point. I had noticed him, of course… and was intrigued. My channel surfing and stumbling onto Candy on VH1 caused me to circle back and listen to his first album with a little more patience and a more open mind.

    In no time, I was hooked. The guy’s amazing. Unfocused, mind you… but truly amazing.

    With Sunny Side Up it seems he’s finding his way most admirably. Still, I believe the best from Nutini is yet to come; and that when it DOES come, it wil be stunning (not that Candy, just to cite one example, isn’t already darned close).

    I must ask, if anyone knows: Who’s the beauty in the red dress behind him in the video? Why does she look so familiar? Have we seen her before? And is she just a video prop, or is that HER voice backing him?

    Just curious.

    – HarpGuy

Leave a Reply

